RSS Feed

A Baby Challenge

So one of my very best friends is ready to pop, I am even flying across the country after the baby is born so that I can meet the new one. She wont tell me if it is a girl or boy, which is driving me crazy, it means I will have to do some last minute shopping. I was trying to decide what kind of card to make her, I wouldn’t be able to do that last minute, I am way too neurotic.

So when I came across this weeks Dynamic Duo challenge, I felt inspired. Now that I had a color palette, I also wanted to find a layout challenge that I could participate in. As you can tell by my blog name, I really want to start trying new styles and being more creative. I have seen Retro Sketches before, and have wanted to try one of theirs but just couldn’t find the right one. I took a look at the post for this week, and the image actually made me concerned. My mind went blank, but then I kept reading the post and the inspiration cards really gave me the kick start I needed.

You will have to forgive the lighting, I am going to have to find a better way to take pictures, but here is my card,

I got to use one of the new dies from Papertrey Ink and two of the new stamps sets too.

I hand drew the swaddled baby, because I had seen that image and wanted to use it, but alas had no stamp that worked. And I used the background basics to add some fun to the clouds. I added the Ribbon and twine and threw on a few buttons. I can’t help myself with the buttons, I just love them. Some people are addicted to bling, I am hooked on buttons. Hope you like it.

Thanks for reading,

Jillian

Supplies:
Paper: PTI Aqua Mist Cardstock, PTI Summer Sunrise Cardstock, Kraft Carstock

Stamps: PTI Faux Ribbon, PTI Background Basics: Text Style II

Dies: PTI Clouds (Big and Small)

Extra’s: PTI Aqua Mist Buttons, PTI Summer Sunrise Ribbon, Jute Twine

About iwanttobloghop

I am a crafter, who doesn't craft much, but I want to change that. I also want to start getting involved in blog hops. So here is hoping that starting a blog, will get the working, married women motivated to start blogging.

7 responses »

  1. What a terrific card! Love the negative die cut clouds! Your swaddled infant is adorable! So happy you joined us this week at Dynamic Duos!

    Reply
  2. Darling baby card Jillian, the script in your die cut negative looks GREAT! Thanks for playing along with us at Dynamic Duos!

    Reply
  3. What a beautiful clean and simple card! I love that you used the negative space of the cloud die!
    Thanks for playing along with us at Dynamic Duos!
    Anni

    Reply
  4. This is darling! So glad you played RetroSketches this week!

    Reply
  5. Very sweet card, I like that you used the negative cut out for your card. Thanks’ for playing at the Dynamic Duos this week.

    Reply
  6. Adorable Card. I love the negative cut outs and the added twine and buttons. Thanks for playing with us at Dynamic Duos!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

